top of page
  • Writer's pictureDeputees

Trying Not to Lose Sight.

We’ve been in Kenya a week and already I feel we are slowing down. A couple of us have gotten sick and are still in recovery (nothing serious, so don’t be alarmed). Just minor stomach aches and headaches. It’s been tough, but we are pushing on. The kids themselves are a handful and I don’t think we realized just how much energy it would take to be around 97 children (the majority under 10). There are some that have attitudes and they don’t quite understand the concept of hurt feelings. A few mini missionary girls have already been called fat or men because they have arm hair… Which is a blow to the self-esteem even if we recognize they are only children. I feel sometimes myself losing sight of why I am here. But when I look around at the foundation staff and the mamas and aunties I remember our purpose. We’re here to serve and love these children with all we have. We’re here to serve and love the staff who go above and beyond for the sake of these children. We’re here to serve one another and build each other up when we become down trodden. We’re here for God.

“This is fellowship. Ministry is not confined to a place or thing–it is who we are. It is what we do with our heart and our hands. It is everything we choose to give.”

So I will put my weariness aside and give all I have. That is what we are called to do. Everyday, all day.


Keep us in your prayers, Rafiki Team, Kenya.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Very Delayed Update from Kenya Rafiki Team!

After a near month-long hiatus in blog postings from our Deputation team, I’m sure many of you would like to hear what we have been up to recently! This delay has not been intentional, our team has si

bottom of page